Awarding organisations (exam boards) design courses and determine the assessment methods used in order to ascertain a candidate’s grade in that qualification.

There are two main types of assessment that are used to determine a grade; Examinations and Non Examined Assessments (NEAs). The mix of examinations and non-examined assessments varies for each subject.

The Isle of Man draws upon a wide range of awarding organisation, from different jurisdictions. This allows us to have a wide and varied selection of qualifications, each one chosen based on the content and the assessment methodology.

Awarding Organisations we use




Pearson BTEC














An assessment that involves candidates completing a written paper at a specific time and location and under very specific conditions.

The examination process is very regulated and involves a number of processes that are designed and regulated by Awarding Organisations.

There are many stages to the examination process and they fall into three broad areas:

Pre-Exam Registering for an examination
Access Arrangements and reasonable adjustments
Timetables and seating plans
Study Leave
Exam time Expectations and Notices
Absence or lateness
Special consideration
Post Exam Results days
Post results services

Non Examined Assessments (NEAs)

Are assessments, such as coursework, fieldwork, and portfolio's work that measure subject-specific knowledge and skills that cannot be tested by timed written papers.

Aspects such as: supervision; the use of resources; advice and feedback; word and time limits; collaboration and group work vary from subject to subject and the specific requirements issued by the awarding organisation must be followed.

The school must ensure that:

  • there is sufficient supervision of every candidate to enable work to be authenticated;
  • the work that an individual candidate submits for assessment is his/her own.

The marking of NEAs varies from subject to subject and may be carried out by centre staff; visiting examiners; or work may be sent away to be marked by the awarding organisation. In each case there are very specific procedures that have to be followed that have been set out by the awarding organisations. These procedures determine how assessments are marked, the quality control mechanisms to be used and the feedback/re-submission cycle that is allowed.

Process such as Access Arrangements and reasonable adjustments; Special consideration; Malpractice; Post results services and Appeals apply as they do for examinations.

Candidate Handbook

Attached is a handbook for candidates to refer to which covers all of the key areas relating to exams and NEA's. It is recommended that candidates read this document carefully so that they can feel confident about the exam cycle and what processes to follow in particular circumstances.

The handbook is intended as an easy reference guide, if you have questions about any aspect of the information or would like further detail/ explanation our Exams Officers will be happy to help.